INDIANAPOLIS (Wednesday, Jan. 11, 2017) – Continuity and consistency are the highlights of the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series television schedule released today.

In collaboration with ABC and NBCSN, INDYCAR’s television calendar will see each race return to the same network where it aired in 2016. The logic behind the schedule is based on continuing to seek opportunities to avoid broadcast conflicts with other major sporting events while giving INDYCAR fans the best possible viewing times.

INDYCAR has experienced year-over-year growth in its television audience each of the past three seasons, leading to a combined 55 percent increase in viewership since 2013.

“Today’s announcement is another key step forward in INDYCAR’s plan of developing continuity and consistency in both our event calendar and our television schedule,” said Mark Miles, CEO of Hulman & Co., the parent of INDYCAR and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. “We’re extremely grateful to our partners at ABC and NBCSN for their collaboration, which has been instrumental in the increase of television ratings and viewership INDYCAR has experienced the past three years and has the series well positioned to continue that growth in 2017.”

As previously announced, the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule has expanded to 17 races with the addition of a night race at Gateway Motorsports Park near St. Louis on Aug. 26 (9 p.m. ET, NBCSN).


“As the U.S. television home of motorsports, we’re proud to showcase the thrilling speed and exciting racing that the Verizon IndyCar Series delivers each year,” said Jon Miller, President, Programming, NBC Sports & NBCSN. “Our INDYCAR coverage in 2016 reached more fans than ever before, and we look forward to building off of that success as we crown yet another INDYCAR champion on NBCSN in 2017.”

Additional INDYCAR programming, including Verizon IndyCar Series practice and qualifying sessions, will be announced at a later date.

The 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series television schedule is as follows (all times ET; times subject to change):

Date             Venue                                                    Network          Broadcast window

March 12      Streets of St. Petersburg                        ABC                 noon-3 p.m.

April 9           Streets of Long Beach                            NBCSN             4-7 p.m.

April 23         Barber Motorsports Park                        NBCSN             3-6 p.m.

April 29         Phoenix International Raceway               NBCSN             9 p.m.-midnight

May 13          IndyCar Grand Prix (IMS)                        ABC                 3:30-6 p.m.

May 20          Indianapolis 500 Qualifying Day 1          ABC                 4-6 p.m.

May 21          Indianapolis 500 Qualifying Day 2          ABC                 4-6 p.m.

May 28          101st Indianapolis 500                            ABC                 11 a.m.-3:30 p.m.

June 3           Raceway at Belle Isle Park Race 1         ABC                 3:30-6 p.m.

June 4           Raceway at Belle Isle Park Race 2         ABC                 3:30-6 p.m.

June 10         Texas Motor Speedway                          NBCSN             8-11 p.m.

June 25         Road America                                         NBCSN             12:30-3:30 p.m.

July 9            Iowa Speedway                                       NBCSN             5-8 p.m.

July 16          Streets of Toronto                                  NBCSN             3-6 p.m.

July 30          Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course                  NBCSN             3-6 p.m.

Aug. 20         Pocono Raceway                                    NBCSN             2-6 p.m.

Aug. 26         Gateway Motorsports Park                     NBCSN             9 p.m.-midnight

Sept. 3          Watkins Glen International                      NBCSN             1-4 p.m.

Sept. 17           Sonoma Raceway        NBCSN 6:30-9:30 p.m.