September 11 — Winners from the final rounds of eliminations from the two-day United Black Drag Racers Association’s 22nd annual “Black Sunday” meet at the Dragplex at Gateway Motorsports Park.


Janie Palm (John Bisci photo)

Janie Palm of Bunker Hill, Illinois, was the big winner of the weekend, earning three victories: Pro Motorcycle on Saturday and Sunday, Street Motorcycle on Sunday. Charles Willis Jr., the Dragplex’s 2016 Super Pro Motorcycle champion from Collinsville, Illinois, won the Street Motorcycle class on Saturday. Corey Landolt, the Dragplex’s 2016 Super Pro champion, won the Super Quick final on Sunday.

The event attracted entries from Wisconsin, Iowa, Ohio, Indiana, Missouri and Illinois.



SUPER PRO: Shannon Beimfor (Edwardsville, Illinois) defeated Rob Sawnders (Brownsburg, Indiana).

PRO: Jason Mallinkrodt (Troy, Missouri) defeated Dan Rauch (Ferguson, Missouri).

SPORTSMAN: Ted Lipka (O’Fallon, Missouri) defeated Mike Ratulowski (Highland, Illinois).

PRO MOTORCYCLE: Janie Palm (Bunker Hill, Illinois) defeated Scott Leonard (Glen Carbon, Illinois).

STREET MOTORCYCLE: Charles Willis Jr. (Collinsville, Illinois) defeated Lionel Hymes (St. Louis).

HEADS-UP STREET CAR: Blake Lee (Valley Park, Missouri) defeated Caleb Co (Arnold, Missouri).

JR. DRAGSTERS: Braxton France (Astoria, Illinois) defeated Anthony McRath (St. Louis).



SUPER QUICK: Corey Landolt (Hermann, Missouri) defeated Eric Barach (Bethalto, Illinois).

6.0 INDEX: Steve Disselhorst (Quincy, Illinois) defeated Tim Koehler (Festus, Missouri).

7.0 INDEX: Steve Pearson (St. Charles, Missouri) defeated Dennis Pearson (St. Peters, Missouri).

SUPER PRO: Jason Phillips (Granite City, Illinois) defeated Steve Disselhorst (Quincy, Illinois).

PRO: Donald Rauch (Ferguson, Missouri) defeated Paul Mitchell (Wood River).

SPORTSMAN: Mike Ratulowski (Highland, Illinois) defeated Steve Zeuner (Imperial, Missouri).

HEADS-UP STREET CAR: Steve Boing (O’Fallon, Missouri) defeated Blake Lee (Valley Park, Missouri).

STREET MOTORCYCLE: Janie Palm (Bunker Hill, Illinois) defeated Nick Stewart (Swansea, Illinois).

PRO MOTORCYCLE: Janie Palm (Bunker Hill, Illinois) defeated Bob Moran (Jacksonville, Illinois).

9.50 INDEX MOTORCYCLE: Brandon Burgett (Kirkwood, Missouri) defeated Marco Eymour (Kenosha, Wisconsin).

JR. DRAGSTER: Allysia Vaultonberg (Canton, Illinois) defeated Braxton France (Astoria, Illinois).