Tommy Heaney of Imperial, Missouri, parlayed a perfect reaction time — .000 sec. — to win the Super Pro class finale during today’s Mike Musgrove Memorial at Gateway Motorsports Park. Heaney faced Tim Reid of Gillespie, Illinois, in the final round of eliminations. Heany’s Mustang, armed with the perfect reaction time and spot-on run, defeated Reid’s dragster, 6.167 sec./111.72 mph to 5.237 sec./130.27 mph.

The day began with a moment of silence and a racers’ tribute parade down the drag strip for longtime racer Mike Musgrove. Musgrove fell ill during last year’s NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series event at GMP and passed away. Mike’s family was on hand to participate in the moment of silence, tribute parade and Domino’s Pizza Victory Lane presentations.

Chad Lidy of Effingham, Illinois, once again visited Domino’s Pizza Victory Lane by defeating Craig Garcia of Fairmont City, Illinois, in the final round of Pro eliminations.


Chad Lidy won the Pro category. (Brad Plant)

Mike Ratulowski of Highland, Illinois, outran Aaron Hagen of High Ridge, Missouri to claim Sportsman honors.

Janie Palm of Bunker Hill, Illinois, defeated Charles Willis Sr., also of Bunker Hill, in the Super Pro Motorcycle final.

Jr. Dragster wins went to Ashley Hentzman (Thunder) and Clayton McGinnis (Lightning).

Jeremy Offerman won the Trophy class and the Quarter-Mile Bonus competition was claimed by Corey Landolt.

The Gateway Buick Performance Enthusiasts club joined the action today. Buick wins went to Pete Van Tholen (Buick V8 Bracket), Craig Pawell (Buick V6 Bracket), David Org (Turbo Hot Street) and Walt Judy (Turbo Street Modified).


The day began with a moment of silence, followed by a racer tribute parade for Mike Musgrove. (John Bisci)

Final-round results, indicating racer, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, elapsed time, top speed:

Super Pro

Winner: Tommy Heaney (Imperial, Missouri) 1991 Mustang  .000  6.167 sec. 111.72 mph.

Runner-up: Tim Reid (Gillespie, Illinois) 2006 Racecraft  .032  5.237 sec. 130.27 mph.



Winner: Chad Lidy (Effingham, Illinois) 1976 Camaro  .007  6.608 sec. 98.11 mph.

Runner-up: Craig Garcia (Fairmont City, Illinois)  .060  8.078 sec. 84.76 mph.



Winner: Mike Ratulowski (Highland, Illinois) 2000 Camaro  .027  13.482 sec. 101.98 mph.

Runner-up: Aaron Hagen (High Ridge, Missouri) 2001 Formula  .079  12.710 sec. 105.46 mph.


Super Pro Motorcycle

Winner: Janie Palm (Bunker Hill, Illinois) 2008 Hayabusa  .046  9.097 sec. 150.06 mph.

Runner-up: Charles Willis Sr. (Bunker Hill, Illinois) 2008 Suzuki  .9.496 sec. 144.15 mph.



Winner: Jeremy Offerman (Waterloo, Illinois) 2005 Chevrolet 2500  .191  17.886 sec. 76.55 mph.

Runner-up: Deb Schneider (Collinsville, Illinois) 2001 Camaro  .156  13.608 sec. 83.36 mph.


Quarter-Mile Bonus (Dragsters)

Winner: Corey Landolt (Hermann, Missouri) 2010 American  .007  7.465 sec. 173.81 mph.

Runner-up: Jeremy McKague (Chamois, Missouri) 1997 Stubby  .010  10.153 sec. 127.21 mph.


Jr. Dragster Thunder

Winner: Ashley Hentzman Winfield, Missouri) .045  9.383 sec. 69.59 mph.

Runner-up: Jenna Protz (Vandalia, Illinois) .139  9.064 sec. 70.63 mph.


Jr. Dragster Lightning

Winner: Clayton McGinnis (Independence, Missouri)  .010  7.990 sec. 80.61 mph.

Runner-up: Keith Kramer (St. Peters, Missouri) .114  8.158 sec. 80.32 mph.


Buick V8 Bracket

Winner: Pete Van Tholen (Rolling Brook, Illinois) 1969 GS  .069  10.269 sec. 122.52 mph.

Runner-up: Steve Steele (Caseyville, Ilinois) 1972 GS  .148  10.601 sec. 125.95 mph.


Buick V6 Bracket

Winner: Craig Pawell (St. Louis) 1987 Regal  .116  13.715 sec. 79.41 mph.

Runner-up: Scott Lovins (St. Louis) 1987 Grand National  .219  15.600 sec. 95.18 mph.


Buick Turbo Hot Street

Winner: David Org ( Wilsonville, Illinois) 1987 Grand National  .214  10.096 sec. 133.49 mph.

Runner-up: Randy Quigging (Rineyville, Kentucky) 1986 Regal  -.069 (fouled)  11.271 sec. 128.91 mph.


Buick Turbo Street Modified

Winner: Walt Judy (Sun Prairie, Wisconsin) 1987 Regal  .516  10.250 sec. 135.92 mph.

Runner-up: Bo McDonald (Elizabethtown, Kentucky) 1987 Grand National  19.160 sec. 54.23 mph.