Bobby Bode of Barrington, Illinois won the $1,000 Sportsman finale Sunday during the Chandler Aviation Spring Nationals for the Protect The Harvest Midwest Junior Super Series presented by Lucas Oil at Gateway Motorsports Park in Madison, Illinois. Landon Sipple of Berea, Kentucky, won twice over the weekend: Pro Sportsman B on Saturday and Ages 10-12 on Sunday.

The three-day event for NHRA Jr. Dragster racers drew entries from as far as Wisconsin, Tennessee, Kentucky, Indiana, Michigan and Ohio.


Final-round results, indicating racer, hometown, reaction time, elapsed time, top speed:


Outlaw 330

Winner: Chris Ruzicka (Grove City, Ohio)  .060  4.265 sec.

Runner-up: Jacob Castle (Circleville, Ohio) .078  4.281 sec.


7.90 Index

Winner: Zach Lewis (Knoxville, Illinois)  .040  7.837 sec. 81.60 mph

Runner-up: Preston Tanner (Renssalaer, Indiana)  -.007 (fouled)  7.864 sec. 83.70 mph.


8.90 Index

Winner: Bobby Kernwein (New Lenox, Illinois)  .138  8.899 sec. 74.19 mph.

Runner-up: Meah Scales (Toledo, Illinois)  .175  8.844 sec. 74.11 mph.


11.90 Index

Winner: Camden Jamison (Boonville, Indiana)  .134  11.973 sec. 53.40 mph.

Runner-up: Kasey Arnett (Alvaton, Kentucky)  .210  11.897 sec. 55.04 mph.


13.90 Index

Winner: Matthew Taylor (St. Charles, Missouri)  .114  14.073 sec. 45.73 mph.

Runner-up: Avery Todd (Huntington, Tennessee)   .372  14.068 sec. 41.98 mph.


Pro Sportsman A

Winner: Jack Konen (Berlin, Wisconsin)  .067  7.914 sec. 81.67 mph.

Runner-up: Zach Lewis (Knoxville, Illinois)  .001  7.987 sec. 78.40 mph.


Pro Sportsman B

Winner: Landon Sipple (Berea, Kentucky)  .120  8.930 sec. 73.25 mph.

Runner-up: Zac Barnes (Franklin, Kentucky)  .038  8.936 sec. 72.23 mph.



Ages 6-9

Winner: Caden Jamison (Boonville, Indiana)  .204  12.050 sec. 53.12 mph.

Runner-up: Matthew Taylor (St. Charles, Missouri)  .106  13.916 sec. 45.83 mph.


Ages 10-12

Winner: Landon Sipple (Berea, Kentucky)  .030  8.908 sec. 74.05 mph.

Runner-up: Anson Brown (Pittsboro, Indiana)  .022  8.911 sec. 73.80 mph.


Ages 13-and-older

Winner: Alyssa Martin (Beaverton, Michigan)  .026  7.914 sec. 83.09 mph.

Runner-up: Bailey Taylor (Bloomington, Illinois)  -.001 (fouled)  8.064 sec. 75.82 mph.


Quick 16

Winner: Cassie Greene (Lawson, Missouri)  .140  4.172 sec.

Runner-up: Charlie Gannon (DeKalb, Illinois)  -.004 (fouled)  4.607 sec.



Winner: Bobby Bode (Barrington, Illinois)  .027  7.966 sec. 80.40 mph.

Runner-up: Zac Baines  .073  8.945 sec. 73.34 mph.



Friday, April 14 — Midnight Madness street-legal drag racing and drifting.

For more information on Gateway Motorsports Park, please call (618) 215-8888 or visit Follow GMP on Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat and Instagram.

About Gateway Motorsports Park

Gateway Motorsports Park is the home of INDYCAR, NASCAR and NHRA racing in the St. Louis region. Located just five minutes from downtown St. Louis and covering more than 340 acres, Gateway Motorsports Park is the largest outdoor entertainment facility in the area. Gateway Motorsports Park’s facilities include a 1/4-mile drag strip, 1.25-mile superspeedway, the 1.6-mile Circuit of St. Louis road course, a state-of-the-art Karting facility and a 14-acre, multi-purpose dirt off-road venue.