August 7, 2016 — 1 a.m. CDT – The All-American Hot Rod Showdown — Gateway Motorsports Park’s annual NHRA Division 3 Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series meet — concluded early Sunday morning.

Mia Tedesco of Murrysville, Pennsylvania, won the final round of Top Alcohol Dragster eliminations over Megan Meyer of Spring Hill, Kansas. Tedesco set a new track E.T. (elapsed time) record of 5.269 seconds during qualifying, then eclipsed that still-new mark with a pass of 5.230 seconds in the final round of eliminations. Tedesco began eliminations as the new points leader when Brandon Booher failed to qualify for the eight-car field.

The GMP win was Tedesco’s second consecutive victory and her fifth of the 2016 NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series season. Tedesco also was entered in the Super Gas class and made it to the semi-final but was eliminated.

“Back-to-back wins is pretty cool. We’ve never done that before,” Tedesco said. “And getting to the semi-final in Super Gas felt pretty good. This is our third divisional win and I’ve won twice in Super Gas so that’s five this year.”

Tedesco was asked about women dominating the Division 3 Top Alcohol Dragster class after female drivers secured the top three positions in qualifying. A third track record was set by Rachel Meyer of Spring Hill, Kansas, when she ran 273.72 mph during qualifying.

Megan and Rachel, the Meyer family, they do an awesome job,” Tedesco said. “They have a stout team and always run well. It was lucky to get by her in the final. God’s blessed me a lot this year. It’s been phenomenal.”

Tedesco reached the final round of eliminations by defeated Jared Dreher in the first round and Rachel Meyer in the semi-final.

Scott McVey of Ile Des Chenes, Manitoba, Canada, defeated Andrew Bohl of Racine, Wisconsin, in the Top Alcohol Funny Car finale, 5.613 sec./260.56 mph to 5.627 sec./263.62 mph. To reach the final, McVey defeated Todd Robertson in the first round and Lance Van Hauen in the semi-final. During qualifying, McVey set new track E.T. and miles-per-hour records (5.591 sec. at 259.31 mph). His 260.56-mph pass in the final re-set the track  record again.

The NHRA event attracted more than 400 entries from the U.S. and Canada and the $20-per-car-load spectator admission promotion packed the GMP parking lots.


Two rounds of Top Alcohol Funny Car and Top Alcohol Dragster qualifying were held on Friday and it was not only about the drivers who ran fastest but also who did not make the cut.

Megan Meyer of Spring Hill, Kansas, topped the Top Alcohol Dragster field with a second-session pass of 5.233 sec. at 270.54 mph that dropped the first session’s No. 1 Qualifier, Mia Tedesco, down to No. 2 on the ladder. Meyer’s sister, Rachel, was third at 5.342 sec. at 273.72 mph.

Top Alcohol Dragster points leader and 2015 Gateway event winner Brandon Booher qualified ninth in an eight-car field and was relegated to spectator status when eliminations began.

Scott McVey of Ile Des Chenes, Manitoba, Canada, was the No. 1 Qualifier in the Top Alcohol Funny Car field with his pass of 5.591 sec. at 259.31 mph, which set new track E.T. and miles-per-hour records. Eight cars entered the class so it was an all-run field.

Final-round results, indicating racer, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, elapsed time, top speed:

Top Alcohol Dragster

Winner: Mia Tedesco (Murrysville, Pennsylvania) 2007 McKinney  .034  5.230 sec. 269.46 mph.

Runner-up: Megan Meyer (Spring Hill, Kansas) 2015 Copeland  .057  5.320 sec. 274.39 mph.


Top Alcohol Funny Car

Winner: Scott McVey (Ile Des Chenes, Manitoba, Canada) 2006 Monte Carlo  .045  5.613 sec. 260.56 mph.

Runner-up: Andrew Bohl (Racine, Wisconsin) 2016 Camaro  .119  5.627 sec. 263.62 mph.


Super Comp

Winner: Jeremy Demers (Carroll, Iowa) 2008 Worthy  .020  8.898 sec. 181.81 mph.

Runner-up: Dusty Meyer (Lenexa, Kansas) 2015 Cha  .040  8.864 sec. 169.19 mph.


Super Gas

Winner: Joe Fisher (Clayton, Ohio) 1963 Corvette  .020  9.908 sec. 163.69 mph.

Runner-up: Robert Coleman (Columbia, Missouri) 1997 Davis  .015  9.914 sec. 142.66 mph.


Super Street

Winner: Corey Bentley (Fremont, Nebraska) 1966 Chevy II  .003  15.860 sec. 63.89 mph.

Runner-up: Marc Erickson (Rockford, Illinois)  -.013 (fouled)  11.985 sec. 96.20 mph.


Competition Eliminator

Winner: Troy Galbraith (Indianapolis) 2014 Spitzer  .045  6.821 sec. 178.47 mph.

Runner-up: Steve Ambrose (Woodhaven, Michigan) 1923 Ford  .058  7.748 sec. 167.84 mph.


Super Stock

Winner: Nick Folk (Durand, Illinois) 2005 Cobalt  .015  9.449 sec. 134.04 mph.

Runner-up: Brett Speer (Pierz, Minnesota) 1987 Camaro  .017  10.025 sec. 129.55 mph.


Stock Eliminator

Winner: Bryan Merkle (Johnstown, Ohio) 2000 Firebird  .039  10.399 sec. 122.421 mph.

Runner-up: Daniel Condon (Wilmington, Illinois) 2015 Camaro  .070  10.487 sec. 127.68 mph.


Top Sportsman

Winner: Don O’Neal (Evansville, Indiana) 1999 Monte Carlo  .098  7.405 sec. 149.46 mph.

Runner-up: Joseph Mohana (Bourg, Louisiana) 1957 Chevrolet  -.024 (fouled)  6.757 sec. 205.44 mph.


Top Dragster

Winner: Les Feist (Clearwater, Minnesota) 2013 Miller  .071  6.275 sec. 221.60 mph.

Runner-up: Shanna Snyder (Elkhart, Indiana) 2006 Spitzer  .016  6.084 sec. 227.08 mph.



Best Paint: Matt Chilbec (Bunker Hill, Illinois), 1928 Ford

Best Engine: Larry Baker (Granite City, Illinois), 1973 Camaro

Best Interior: Ron Chilbec (Glen Carbon, Illinois), 1937 Ford coupe

Best Wheels: Ryan Lingle (Pevely, Missouri), 1970 GTO

Best Graphics: Barry Seatherage, 1950 Chevrolet Fleetline

Best GM: Bill Miller (Washington, Missouri), 1972 Nova

Best Ford: Harold McLain (St. Louis), 1950 Ford custom

Best Chrysler: Mark Vallon (Edwardsville, Illinois), 1970 Challenger

Best Of The No-Longer-With-Us: Ryan Lingle (Pevely, Missouri), 1970 GTO

Best Truck: Elvis Fantroy (St. Louis), 1950 Ford F-100

Best Two-Door: Ron Chilbec (Glen Carbon, Illinois), 1937 Ford

Best Four-Door: Joseph Tarpeo (St. Louis), 1962 Mercury

Baddest Muscle Car At The Show: Larry Baker (Granite City, Illinois), 1973 Camaro

Next event: 2016 Truck & Off-Road Festival — Aug. 12-13.