Unique stock car-open wheel doubleheader on August 1-2


For decades, the ARCA Menards Series always has offered up a diverse and exciting mix of driving talent: young racers on their way up the ladder, veteran stars who have competed in the series for years and drivers in development programs with major NASCAR teams. The 66-year-old stock car series competes on superspeedways, short tracks and a dirt oval. Past champions include Frank Kimmel, Chase Briscoe, Grant Enfinger, Ty Dillon, Andy Hillenburg and Justin Allgaier.

In 2019, Ty Gibbs earned his first ARCA Menards Series victory by passing Sam Mayer on the last lap of the Day to Day Coffee 150 at World Wide Technology Raceway.

“That was a really big win,” said Ty, who is the grandson of four-time NASCAR Cup championship team owner and NFL Hall of Fame coach Joe Gibbs. “It was pretty cool because a lot of people were watching it too and we got a lot of TV time. Yeah, it was pretty cool that it came down to the wire there at the end and we got that last corner pass and won it. It was real cool that I got the race win there. We’ve been knocking on the door the whole year. Sometimes you do what you’ve got to do to win.”

The ARCA Menards Series race, promoted by Track Enterprises of Macon, Illinois, will be joined on the August 1-2 weekend by the USAC Silver Crown Series in 2020. The USAC Silver Crown Series last raced at WWTR – then known as Gateway Motorsports Park – in 2016. Tanner Swanson passed Chris Windom to lead the final 33 laps and win the Vatterott College Silver Crown Showdown.


Photos by Brad Plant, JR Compton and Michael Allio.