2017 E.T. Bracket Series presented by Carl’s 4-Wheel Drive & Performance Center

April 2 — Ken Jones of Walnut Hill, Illinois defeated Bruce Damewood of Clinton, Iowa in the final round of Super Pro eliminations today at Gateway Motorsports Park. Other winners today in the 2017 E.T. Bracket Series presented by Carl’s 4-Wheel Drive & Performance Center include: Jeremy McKague (Pro), Mike Davis (Sportsman), Thomas Cole (Super Pro Motorcycle), Rocky Fox (Trophy), Sam Stewart (Jr. Dragster Thunder and Jr. Dragster Runoff) and Luke Albietz (Jr. Dragster Lightning).

The GMP Dragplex played host to a handful of Motorcycle racers from the Davenport, Iowa area and they did well. Damewood won Saturday’s Super Pro Motorcycle final and was runner-up in Sunday’s Super Pro finale. Cole, of Davenport, won today’s Super Pro Motorcycle final. Tom Klemme of Davenport finished runner-up in Saturday’s Super Pro and Super Pro Motorcycle finals. Their home track, in Byron, Illinois is not yet open for the 2017 season.

The midway and wedge areas of the Dragplex were crowded with everything from a Ferrari to a rat rod as Cars ‘N’ Coffee St. Louis made its first of several planned 2017 visits to GMP.

Final-round results, indicating racer, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, elapsed time, top speed:

Super Pro

Winner: Ken Jones (Walnut Hill, Illinois) 2007 Mullis dragster  .011  4.541 sec. 153.06 mph.

Runner-up: Bruce Damewood (Clinton, Iowa) 1983 Suzuki  .011  5.516 sec. 122.05 mph.



Winner: Jeremy McKague (Chamois, Missouri) 1969 Nova  .014  6.364 sec. 107.05 mph.

Runner-up: Mike Shanks (Union, Missouri) 1976 Camaro  -.005 (fouled)  6.485 sec. 104.31 mph.



Winner: Mike Davis (O’Fallon, Missouri) 1967 Mustang  .047  11.972 sec. 109.02 mph.

Runner-up: Aaron Hagen (High Ridge, Missouri) 2001 Firebird  .067  12.557 sec. 107.71 mph.


Super Pro Motorcycle

Winner: Thomas Cole (Davenport, Iowa) 1974 Kawasaki  .031  8.663 sec. 146.56 mph.

Runner-up: Charles Willis Jr. (Collinsville, Illinois) Suzuki  .082  9.798 sec. 138.50 mph.



Winner: Rocky Fox (Troy, Missouri) 2015 Mustang  .124  12.968 sec. 105.69 mph.

Runner-up: Bill Kuhn (Columbia, Illinois) 2010 Corvette  .185  12.603 sec. 111.91 mph.


Jr. Dragster Lightning

Winner: Luke Albietz (Wentzville, Missouri)  .103  7.912 sec. 74.17 mph.

Runner-up: Collin Boehmer (Festus, Missouri)  .039  8.001 sec. 78.78 mph.


Jr. Dragster Thunder

Winner: Sam Stewart (Washington, Missouri)  .052  8.948 sec. 71.48 mph.

Runner-up: Nick Dokman (Fairview Heights, Illinois)  .048  8.985 sec. 70.03 mph.


Jr. Dragster Runoff

Winner: Sam Stewart (Washington, Missouri)  .064  8.920 sec. 72.59 mph.

Runner-up: Luke Albietz (Wentzville, Missouri)  -.016 (fouled)  7.846 sec. 82.78 mph.


For more information on Gateway Motorsports Park, please call (618) 215-8888 or visit www.wwtraceway.com. Follow GMP on Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat and Instagram.


About Gateway Motorsports Park

Gateway Motorsports Park is the home of INDYCAR, NASCAR and NHRA racing in the St. Louis region. Located just five minutes from downtown St. Louis and covering more than 340 acres, Gateway Motorsports Park is the largest outdoor entertainment facility in the area. Gateway Motorsports Park’s facilities include a 1/4-mile drag strip, 1.25-mile superspeedway, the 1.6-mile Circuit of St. Louis road course, a state-of-the-art Karting facility and a 14-acre, multi-purpose dirt off-road venue.