April 1, 2017 — Gateway Motorsports Park’s NHRA-sanctioned Dragplex hosted the first round of the 2017 E.T. Bracket Series presented by Carl’s 4-Wheel Drive & Performance Center. Final-round winners included: Tim Reid (Super Pro), Randy Weller (Pro), Seth Shaffer (Maryland Heights, Missouri), Bruce Damewood (Super Pro Motorcycle), Anitra Vancil (Trophy), Nick Dokman (Jr. Dragster Thunder and Jr. Dragster Runoff) and Andrew Green (Jr. Dragster Lightning). Dockman turned in a perfect reaction time of .000 in the Jr. Dragster Runoff to Andrew Green’s near-perfect .002.

None of the 2016 defending champions reached the final round of eliminations. Tom Klemme of Davenport, Iowa competed in two classes — Super Pro and Super Pro Motorcycle and runnered-up in both finals.

The 2017 E.T. Bracket Series presented by Carl’s 4-Wheel Drive & Performance Center continues on Sunday, April 2 at 10:30 a.m.


Final-round results, indicating racer, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, elapsed time, top speed:

Super Pro

Winner: Tim Reid (Gillespie, Illinois) 2000 Racecraft dragster  .006  5.287 sec. 127.55 mph.

Runner-up: Tom Klemme (Davenport, Iowa) 1973 Kawasaki  .022  5.464 sec. 123.87 mph.



Winner: Randy Weller (Edwardsville, Illinois) 1971 Vega  .002  6.199 sec. 107.90 mph.

Runner-up: Ron Beach (Troy, Illinois) 1969 GTO  .063  7.201 sec. 90.61 mph.



Winner: Seth Schaffer (Maryland Heights, Missouri) 2010 Challenger  .027  13.784 sec. 100.64 mph.

Runner-up: Ellis Buth (Decatur, Illinois) 1989 Sable  .043  17.983 sec. 73.17 mph.


Super Pro Motorcycle

Winner: Bruce Damewood (Clinton, Iowa) 1983 Suzuki  .006  22.334 sec.

Runner-up: Tom Klemme (Davenport, Iowa) 1973 Suzuki  n.a.  .000  n.a.



Winner: Anitra Vancil (St. Peters, Missouri) 2014 Chevrolet  .350  14.697 sec. 81.01 mph.

Runner-up: Greg Carlos (Clark, Missouri) 2016 Camaro  .276  10.822 sec. 127.20 mph.


Jr. Dragster Lightning

Winner: Andrew Green (New Baden, Illinois) 2012 Mike Bos  .037  7.892 sec. 78.93 mph.

Runner-up: Paige Teel (Quincy, Illinois) 2002 Halfscale  .054  7.887 sec. 81.55 mph.


Jr. Dragster Thunder

Winner: Nick Dokman (Fairview Heights, Illinois) 1999 Mike Bos  .065  8.926 sec. 69.66 mph.

Runner-up: Brylee France (Astonia, Illinois)  .106  8.897 sec. 72.39 mph.


Jr. Dragster Runoff

Winner: Nick Dockman (Fairview Heights, Illinois) 1999 Mike Bos  .000  8.929 sec. 70.25 mph.

Runner-up: Andrew Green (New Baden, Illinois) 2012 Mike Bos  .002  7.919 sec. 76.87 mph.

Nick Dockman scored twice on April 1

Pro winner Randy Weller


For more information on Gateway Motorsports Park, please call (618) 215-8888 or visit www.wwtraceway.com. Follow GMP on Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat and Instagram.

Trophy winner Anitra Vancil


About Gateway Motorsports Park

Gateway Motorsports Park is the home of INDYCAR, NASCAR and NHRA racing in the St. Louis region. Located just five minutes from downtown St. Louis and covering more than 340 acres, Gateway Motorsports Park is the largest outdoor entertainment facility in the area. Gateway Motorsports Park’s facilities include a 1/4-mile drag strip, 1.25-mile superspeedway, the 1.6-mile Circuit of St. Louis road course, a state-of-the-art Karting facility and a 14-acre, multi-purpose dirt off-road venue.