Verizon IndyCar Series and Indy Lights teams will test at Gateway Motorsports Park in Madison, Illinois on Tuesday, May 2 in preparation for the inaugural August 26 Bommarito Automotive Group 500 Presented By Valvoline. All 21 INDYCAR drivers and teams are expected to participate. will test from noon to 3 p.m. and 4:30 to 7:30 p.m. Indy Lights teams will test at 10:45 a.m. and again at 3:15 p.m.

This will be the first opportunity for fans to see the INDYCAR stars and cars of the Indianapolis 500 on Gateway Motorsports Park’s unique 1.25-mile oval as they prepare for the inaugural Bommarito Automotive Group 500 Presented By Valvoline on August 26. In addition to America’s best drivers, the inaugural event also will draw competitors from Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, France, Japan, New Zealand, Spain, United Arab Emirates, Russia and the United Kingdom.

Spectator grandstand gates will open at 11 a.m. Adult spectator grandstand admission is $20. Kids 15 and under are free. Parking is free. The May 2 test also is an excellent opportunity for fans to scout their favorite seats while cars are on the track at full speed.

Two Indy Lights teams will be on hand to test for Cooper Tire: Shelby Blackstock (Belardi Auto Racing) and Juan Piedrahita (Team Pelfrey).



Tuesday, May 2

11 a.m. — Spectator grandstand gates open.

Noon-3 p.m. — INDYCAR test session.

3:15-4:15 p.m. — Indy Lights/Cooper Tire test session.

4:30-7:30 p.m. — INDYCAR test session.



Car number, driver, hometown, team

1  Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France)— Team Penske (defending Verizon IndyCar Series champion)

2  Josef Newgarden (Nashville, Tennessee) — Team Penske (1 win in 2017)

3  Helio Castroneves (Sao Paolo, Brazil) — Team Penske

4  Conor Daly (Noblesville, Indiana) — A. J. Foyt Enterprises

5  James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) — Schmidt-Peterson Motorsports (1 win in 2017)

7  Mikhail Aleshin (Moscow, Russia) — Schmidt-Peterson Motorsports

8  Max Chilton (Reigate, United Kingdom) — Chip Ganassi Racing

9  Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand) — Chip Ganassi Racing

10  Tony Kanaan (Salvador De Bahia, Brazil) — Chip Ganassi Racing

12  Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia) — Team Penske

14  Carlos Munoz (Bogota, Colombia) — A.J. Foyt Enterprises

15  Graham Rahal (New Albany, Ohio) — Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

18  Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France) — Dale Coyne Racing (1 win in 2017)

19  Ed Jones (Dubai, United Arab Emirates) — Dale Coyne Racing

20  Ed Carpenter (Indianapolis, Indiana) — Ed Carpenter Racing

20  Spencer Pigot (Orlando, Florida) — Ed Carpenter Racing

21  J.R. Hildebrand (Sausalito, California) — Ed Carpenter Racing

26  Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan) — Andretti Autosport

27  Marco Andretti (Nazareth, Pennsylvania) — Andretti Autosport

28  Ryan Hunter-Reay (Fort Lauderdale, Florida) — Andretti Autosport

83  Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, California) — Chip Ganassi Racing

98  Alexander Rossi (Nevada City, California) — Andretti Herta Autosport with Curb-Agajanian


Tickets for the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 Presented By Valvoline may be purchased online at or by calling the GMP ticket office at (618) 215-8888. Tickets start at just $35. Kids 15 and under are free (general admission) with a paid adult.

For more information on Gateway Motorsports Park, please call (618) 215-8888. Follow GMP on Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat and Instagram.

For more information on the Verizon IndyCar Series, please visit




About Gateway Motorsports Park

Gateway Motorsports Park is the home of INDYCAR, NASCAR and NHRA racing in the St. Louis region. Located just five minutes from downtown St. Louis and covering more than 340 acres, Gateway Motorsports Park is the largest outdoor entertainment facility in the area. Gateway Motorsports Park’s facilities include a 1/4-mile drag strip, 1.25-mile superspeedway, 1.6-mile road course, the state-of-the-art Gateway Kartplex and a 14-acre, multi-purpose dirt off-road venue.